top of page

Cosmo Interview

In an interview with Cosmo, Diane and Jacob talk about Queerly Beloved, and overcompensating for Jacob's newly embraced masculinity, why Jacob didn't want to at odds with women and how gender is no binary.

Jacob says, "I didn't want to form my identity by being at odds with women, the way some people did. "I'm so not that that I have to be way over here." I still wanted to be a feminist."

Diane says, "I was using sex as a way to overcompensate — how do I validate him as a man? I wanted him to know I was attracted to him and loved him has a man...it was a matter of figuring out what kind of sex was possible and then realizing any kind of sex was possible."

Diane says, "Gender is a huge spectrum. You can see [the younger genderation is not defining gender in the same way people our age did. We're from a gender binary world, and these kids are growing up differently."

Jacob adds "I interviewed a woman who was 18 and she was like, 'It's now OK to be a woman with a penis. People accept that. You can be a woman and have a penis.'"

Diane concludes, "And we were like, 'That's so awesome!'"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page