top of page

Diane Offers Advice to Transitioning Couples & More in Lesbian.com Interview

Queerly Beloved, is "vulnerable, heartbreaking and hilarious in turns" writes Natasia Langfelder on Lesbian.com. She continues, saying the memoir "provides invaluable insight into how a transition can affect a relationship."

In her interview with Lesbian.com, Diane talks about how relationships in the LGBT community need more support. "Not just for couples in transition, but for all of us. Lesbian couples don’t hear enough that our relationships are worthy and that they are worth fighting."

Natasi says, "I liked the dichotomy in the book in terms of Jacob moving towards himself and firming up his identity and Diane’s being incredibly shaken. "

Diane replies, "I have come to the resolution that I love my husband whatever that makes me it’s fine. People are going to interpret me differently and I’m OK with that..I’m very much a queer femme, bisexual-identified lesbian, lesbian-identified bisexual, however it works."

DIane's advice for other partners of those transitioning? "First thing, get yourself your own therapist because you will have your own issues to deal with and you can’t work them out with your partner. Your partner is going through their own issues..You need someone to support you."

She adds, "Educate yourself and hang on tight."

Diane talks about pressure in the queer community to avoid negative or controversial issues because of how it might make LGBT people "look"to others. "I’ll write a story about a crime where the person is LGBT and people will say, 'why did you have to write this it makes us look bad?'"

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page